Sometime in the middle of the 18th century, a group of residents from Monmouth County, New Jersey petitioned John Cavert to explore for land in the Kayaderosseras Patent suitable to begin a new settlement. During the 1770's Scots and Scotch Irish well versed in the trades left the village of Freehold, New Jersey to establish New Freehold (now Charlton, New York).
The first minister to serve the New Freeholders was the Rev. William Scheneck whose early training had been under William Tennett of Freehold, New Jersey.
The present church edifice (1852-53) is a fine example of Greek Revival Architecture. A school was started in the mid 1850's in the old session room above the church horse shed. The student body grew so that in 1859 the academy was built and served area students until 1913. The building was then used for social events and as a grange hall until 1946 when it was destroyed by fire. The wing built onto the church in 1950, housing classrooms, offices and fellowship hall, is still affectionately called "The Academy."
Charlton Freehold Presbyterian Church is proud of our more than 200 years of educational and spiritual offering to the community; our church looks forward to its continuance throughout the 21st century.